DNAeXplain Archives – Introductory DNA

Today, another group from the DNAeXplained archives.  This time, we’ll be looking at Introductory DNA.  The various categories are:

  • Historical or Obsolete – these are items that were interesting at the time by aren’t really relevant today – except in a historical context. An example would be the announcement of the Genographic 2 project in July of 2012. You may wonder why I didn’t delete these. Looking back, these are somewhat like a genetic genealogy journal.
  • General Information – these are generally articles about DNA and genealogy. They don’t presume that you’re actually working with the results.
  • Basic Education – this may be basic genealogy or basic DNA fundamentals. These articles provide a foundation for working with your results. Think of it as pre-bootcamp.
  • Introductory DNA – these articles do presume you are working with your results. Bootcamp begins here.
  • Intermediate DNA – these are a little more difficult and you’ll probably need the basics and introductory understanding to be able to work at this level.
  • Advanced DNA – very few articles are advanced. In fact, I try very hard to avoid this, when possible. Mostly, these have to do with advanced autosomal techniques and research.
  • Examples – these are examples of using genealogy and DNA together seamlessly. My 52 Ancestors stories fall into this category. Think of these as story problems that include the answers!
  • Educational – educational opportunities such as classes, books and videos.
  • Entertainment – just for fun, like the Who Do You Think You Are series, some of these have no DNA content.
  • Project Administration – articles written for project administrators at Family Tree DNA. Project administrators, of course, will be interested in all of the rest.

In the past we’ve covered Historical, General Information and Basic Education. Today, let’s look at Introductory DNA.

Title Date Link
What Project do I Join? 7-19-2012 https://dna-explained.com/2012/07/19/what-project-do-i-join/
The Dreaded “Middle East” Autosomal Result 7-23-2012 https://dna-explained.com/2012/07/24/the-dreaded-middle-east-autosomal-result/
Where is my Haplogroup From? 8-7-2012 https://dna-explained.com/2012/08/06/where-is-my-haplogroup-from/
Autosomal Results – The Basics 8-19-2012 https://dna-explained.com/2012/08/19/autosomal-results-the-basics/
Matches – Family (IBD) vs Population (IBS) 9-3-2012 https://dna-explained.com/2012/09/03/matches-family-ibd-vs-population-ibs/
Doug McDonald on Biogeographical Analysis 9-9-2012 https://dna-explained.com/2012/09/09/doug-mcdonald-on-biogeograpical-analysis/
Germain Doucet and Haplogroup C3b 9-18-2012 https://dna-explained.com/2012/09/18/germain-doucet-and-haplogroup-c3b/
X Marks the Spot 9-26-2012 https://dna-explained.com/2012/09/27/x-marks-the-spot/
Working with Mitochondrial DNA Results 10-4-2012 https://dna-explained.com/2012/10/04/working-with-mitochondrial-dna-results/
What to Order?  – Geno 2.0 vs Family Tree DNA Products 10-14-2012 https://dna-explained.com/2012/10/14/what-to-order-geno-2-0-vs-family-tree-dna-products/
Averages, TIP Calculator and One Size Fits All 11-29-2012 https://dna-explained.com/2012/11/29/averages-tip-calculator-and-one-size-fits-all/
little a, BIG A, Mitochondrial DNA 12-2-2012 https://dna-explained.com/2012/12/02/little-a-big-a-mitochondrial-dna/
Projects, Administrators and Expectations 2-2-2013 https://dna-explained.com/2013/02/02/projects-administrators-and-expectations/
Is the Family Tree DNA 12 Marker Test Worthwhile? 3-13-2013 https://dna-explained.com/2013/03/13/is-the-family-tree-dna-12-marker-test-worthwhile/
Triangulation for Y DNA 6-18-2013 https://dna-explained.com/2013/06/18/triangulation-for-y-dna/
Triangulation for Autosomal DNA 6-21-2013 https://dna-explained.com/2013/06/21/triangulation-for-autosomal-dna/
Mitochondrial DNA SmartMatching – The Rest of the Story 6-28-2013 https://dna-explained.com/2013/06/28/mitochondrial-dna-smartmatching-the-rest-of-the-story/
Combining Tools – Autosomal Plus Y-DNA, mtDNA and the X Chromosome 7-13-2013 https://dna-explained.com/2013/07/13/combining-tools-autosomal-plus-y-dna-mtdna-and-the-x-chromosome/
Autosomal DNA, Ancient Ancestors, Ethnicity and the Dandelion 8-5-2013 https://dna-explained.com/2013/08/05/autosomal-dna-ancient-ancestors-ethnicity-and-the-dandelion/
Black, White or Red – Changing Colors 8-11-2013 https://dna-explained.com/2013/08/11/black-white-or-red-changing-colors/
Why Don’t I Match My Cousin? 9-29-2013 https://dna-explained.com/2013/09/29/why-dont-i-match-my-cousin/
Determining Ethnicity Percentages 10-19-2013 https://dna-explained.com/2013/10/19/determining-ethnicity-percentages/
Why Are My Predicted Cousin Relationships Wrong? 10-21-2013 https://dna-explained.com/2013/10/21/why-are-my-predicted-cousin-relationships-wrong/
Chromosome Mapping aka Ancestor Mapping 12-09-2013 https://dna-explained.com/2013/12/09/chromosome-mapping-aka-ancestor-mapping/
One Chromosome, Two Sides, No Zipper – ICW and the Matrix 12-15-2013 https://dna-explained.com/2013/12/15/one-chromosome-two-sides-no-zipper-icw-and-the-matrix/
Free Webinars from Family Tree DNA 12-17-2013 https://dna-explained.com/2013/12/17/free-webinars-from-family-tree-dna/
X-Chromosome Matching at Family Tree DNA 1-2-2014

 

https://dna-explained.com/2014/01/02/x-chromosome-matching-at-family-tree-dna/
STRs vs SNPs, Multiple DNA Personalities 2-10-2014 https://dna-explained.com/2014/02/10/strs-vs-snps-multiple-dna-personalities/
Haplogroup Comparisons Between Family Tree DNA and 23andMe 3-24-2014 https://dna-explained.com/2014/03/24/haplogroup-comparisons-between-family-tree-dna-and-23andme/
Mitochondrial – the Maligned DNA 3-29-2014 https://dna-explained.com/2014/03/29/mitochondrial-the-maligned-dna/
What Does “Sharing Genomes” at 23andMe Mean? 3-31-2014 https://dna-explained.com/2014/03/31/what-does-sharing-genomes-at-23andme-mean/
Family Tree DNA Releases myOrigins 5-11-2014 https://dna-explained.com/2014/05/11/family-tree-dna-releases-myorigins/
Ethnicity Percentages – Second Generation Report Card 5-19-2014 https://dna-explained.com/2014/05/19/ethnicity-percentages-second-generation-report-card/
Finding Native American Ethnic Results in Germanic People 5-21-2014 https://dna-explained.com/2014/05/21/finding-native-american-ethnic-results-in-germanic-people/
Haplogroups, SNPs nd Family Group Confusion 6-23-2014

 

https://dna-explained.com/2014/06/23/haplogroups-snps-and-family-group-confusion/
Identifying Possible Common Ancestors Utilizing Multiple Tests 7-6-2014 https://dna-explained.com/2014/07/06/identifying-possible-common-ancestors-utilizing-multiple-tests/
Autosomal DNA Matching Within Projects 8-2-2014 https://dna-explained.com/2014/08/02/autosomal-dna-matching-within-projects/
What Does and Doesn’t A Y DNA Match Mean 9-4-2014 https://dna-explained.com/2014/09/04/what-does-and-doesnt-a-y-dna-match-mean/
One Match, Two Ancestors, Never Assume 11-17-2014 https://dna-explained.com/2014/11/18/one-match-two-ancestors-never-assume/
Ancestry’s Better Mousetrap – DNA Circles 11-19-2014 https://dna-explained.com/2014/11/19/ancestrys-better-mousetrap-dna-circles/
Mitochondrial DNA Mutation Rates and Common Ancestors 12-5-2014 https://dna-explained.com/2014/12/05/mitochondrial-dna-mutation-rates-and-common-ancestors/
Secondary Genealogical and Genetic Lines 1-29-2015 https://dna-explained.com/2015/01/29/secondary-genealogical-and-genetic-lines/
Getting the Most Out Of AncestryDNA 2-2-2015 https://dna-explained.com/2015/02/02/getting-the-most-out-of-ancestrydna/
MyGroups is Here 2-17-2105 https://dna-explained.com/2015/02/17/mygroups-is-here/
Why Autosomal Response Rate Really Does Matter 2-24-2015 https://dna-explained.com/2015/02/24/why-autosomal-response-rate-really-does-matter/
Haplogroups and The Three Brothers 2-26-2015 https://dna-explained.com/2015/02/26/haplogroups-and-the-three-brothers/
Finding Your American Indian Tribe Using DNA 4-1-2015 https://dna-explained.com/2015/03/31/finding-your-american-indian-tribe-using-dna/
Help System at Family Tree DNA Updated Today 4-1-2015 https://dna-explained.com/2015/04/01/help-system-at-family-tree-dna-updated-today/
Proving Your Tree 5-7-2015 https://dna-explained.com/2015/05/06/proving-your-tree/
Mother’s Day – Tracking the Mitochondrial DNA Line 5-10-2015 https://dna-explained.com/2015/05/10/mothers-day-tracking-the-mitochondrial-dna-line/
The Logic and Birth of a Bad NAD (New Ancestor Discovery) 8-12-2015 https://dna-explained.com/2015/08/12/the-logic-and-birth-of-a-bad-nad-new-ancestor-discovery/

5 thoughts on “DNAeXplain Archives – Introductory DNA

  1. Thanks, Roberta. I have just forwarded this to a new DNA cousin I met today.
    You do so much for the genetic genealogy community and we greatly appreciate you.

  2. Pingback: DNAeXplain Archives – Intermediate DNA Articles | DNAeXplained – Genetic Genealogy

  3. Pingback: DNAeXplain Archives – Advanced DNA Articles | DNAeXplained – Genetic Genealogy

  4. Pingback: DNAeXplained Archives – Educational Opportunities | DNAeXplained – Genetic Genealogy

  5. Pingback: DNAeXplain Archives – Entertainment Articles | DNAeXplained – Genetic Genealogy

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s