DNAeXplain Archives – Basic Education Articles

Today, we’re continuing with our series of articles from our archives that have been published on this blog by group category.  The categories are:

  • Historical or Obsolete – these are items that were interesting at the time by aren’t really relevant today – except in a historical context. An example would be the announcement of the Genographic 2 project in July of 2012. You may wonder why I didn’t delete these. Looking back, these are somewhat like a genetic genealogy journal.
  • General Information – these are generally articles about DNA and genealogy. They don’t presume that you’re actually working with the results.
  • Basic Education – these articles may be basic genealogy or basic DNA fundamentals. These articles provide a foundation for working with your results. Think of it as pre-bootcamp.
  • Introductory DNA – these articles do presume you are working with your results. Bootcamp begins here.
  • Intermediate DNA – these are a little more difficult and you’ll probably need the basics and introductory understanding to be able to work at this level.
  • Advanced DNA – very few articles are advanced. In fact, I try very hard to avoid this, when possible. Mostly, these have to do with advanced autosomal techniques and research.
  • Examples – these are examples of using genealogy and DNA together seamlessly. My 52 Ancestors stories fall into this category. Think of these as story problems that include the answers!
  • Educational – educational opportunities such as classes, books and videos.
  • Entertainment – just for fun, like the Who Do You Think You Are series, some of these have no DNA content.
  • Project Administration – articles written for project administrators at Family Tree DNA. Project administrators, of course, will be interested in all of the rest.

Trying to decide where each article best fits has sometimes been challenging, but I’ve tried my best. Enjoy the Basic Education group today.

Title Date Link
Haplogroup C3*- Previously Believed East Asian Haplogroup is Proven Native American 12-23-2014 https://dna-explained.com/2014/12/23/haplogroup-c3-previously-believed-east-asian-haplogroup-is-proven-native-american/
Challenges with Irish Autosomal DNA Genealogy Research 8-18-2014 https://dna-explained.com/2014/08/18/challenges-with-irish-autosomal-dna-genealogy-research/
What Happened to my Mitochondrial DNA??? 7-14-2012 https://dna-explained.com/2012/07/14/what-happened-to-my-mitochondrial-dna/
The CRS and the RSRS 7-15-2012 https://dna-explained.com/2012/07/15/the-crs-and-the-rsrs/
Ethnicity Finders 7-21-2012 https://dna-explained.com/2012/07/21/ethnicity-finders/
What Does MCRA (MRCA) Really Mean? 8-6-2012 https://dna-explained.com/2012/08/06/what-does-mcra-really-mean/
The DNA Pedigree Chart – Mining for Ancestors 8-22-2012 https://dna-explained.com/2012/08/22/the-dna-pedigree-chart-mining-for-ancestors/
Surprise Matches – What do they Mean? 8-26-2012 https://dna-explained.com/2012/08/26/surprise-y-matches-what-do-they-mean/
4 Kinds of DNA for Genetic Genealogy 10-1-2012 https://dna-explained.com/2012/10/01/4-kinds-of-dna-for-genetic-genealogy/
Autosomal Matching – Is Great-Grandmas Brother Really Her Brother 10-9-2012 https://dna-explained.com/2012/10/09/autosomal-matching-is-great-grandmas-brother-really-her-brother/
Transferring Results from National Geographic to Family Tree DNA 1-13-2013 https://dna-explained.com/2013/01/13/transferring-results-from-national-geographic-to-family-tree-dna/
Hackers and Your Genetic Secrets 1-20-2013 https://dna-explained.com/2013/01/20/hackers-and-your-genetic-secrets/
What is a Haplogroup? 1-24-2013 https://dna-explained.com/2013/01/24/what-is-a-haplogroup/
Downloading Ancestry’s Autosomal DNA Raw Data File 3-21-2013 https://dna-explained.com/2013/03/21/downloading-ancestrys-autosomal-dna-raw-data-file/
New Y DNA Haplogroup Naming Convention 3-31-2013 https://dna-explained.com/2013/03/31/new-y-dna-haplogroup-naming-convention/
Swabbing the (Recently) Deceased 4-14-2013 https://dna-explained.com/2013/04/14/swabbing-the-recently-deceased/
No (DNA) Bullying 5-15-2013 https://dna-explained.com/2013/05/15/no-dna-bullying/
Mythbusting – Women, Fathers and DNA 6-23-2013 https://dna-explained.com/2013/06/23/mythbusting-women-fathers-and-dna/
UpFront with NGS Series on DNA Basics – Testing for Genealogy 101 8-5-2013 https://dna-explained.com/2013/08/05/upfront-with-ngs-series-on-dna-basics-testing-for-genealogy-101/
Optimizing Blog Usage 9-4-2013 https://dna-explained.com/2013/09/04/optimizing-blog-usage/
Why DNA Test? 9-15-2013 https://dna-explained.com/2013/09/15/why-dna-test/
Ethnicity Results – True or Not? 10-4-2013 https://dna-explained.com/2013/10/04/ethnicity-results-true-or-not/
DNA Testing for Genealogy 101 10-6-2013 https://dna-explained.com/2013/10/06/dna-testing-for-genealogy-101/
Obtaining Help With DNA 2-12-2014 https://dna-explained.com/2014/02/12/obtaining-help-with-dna/
23 Ways to be a PITA 3-16-2014 https://dna-explained.com/2014/03/16/23-ways-to-be-a-pita/
Surname Projects 8-7-2014 https://dna-explained.com/2014/08/07/surname-projects/
Haplogroup Projects 8-29-2014 https://dna-explained.com/2014/08/29/haplogroup-projects/
Family Tree DNA Announces Free Autosomal Transfer from 23andMe and Ancestry 10-19-2014 https://dna-explained.com/2014/10/19/family-tree-dna-announces-free-autosomal-transfer-from-23andme-and-ancestry/
Autosomal DNA 2015 – Which Test Is The Best? 2-5-2015 https://dna-explained.com/2015/02/05/autosomal-dna-2015-which-test-is-the-best/
Eleven Things I Would Do Differently 3-18-2015 https://dna-explained.com/2015/03/18/eleven-things-i-would-do-differently/
And A Dozen Things I Got Right 3-19-2015 https://dna-explained.com/2015/03/19/and-a-dozen-things-i-got-right/
A Dozen Ancestors That Aren’t – aka – Bad NADs 4-14-2015 https://dna-explained.com/2015/04/14/a-dozen-ancestors-that-arent-aka-bad-nads/
Parent-Child Non-Matching Autosomal DNA Segments 5-14-2015 https://dna-explained.com/2015/05/14/parent-child-non-matching-autosomal-dna-segments/
A Match List Does Not an Ancestor Make 5-19-2015 https://dna-explained.com/2015/05/19/a-match-list-does-not-an-ancestor-make/
Memorial Day – Grieving the Losses 5-25-2015 https://dna-explained.com/2015/05/25/memorial-day-grieving-the-losses/
Allen County Public Library OnLine Resources 6-3-2015 https://dna-explained.com/2015/06/03/allen-county-public-library-online-resources/
Ancestry Reinvents my Ancestors, Again 6-4-2015 https://dna-explained.com/2015/06/04/ancestry-reinvents-my-ancestors-again/
And Now…Ancestry Health 6-6-2015 https://dna-explained.com/2015/06/06/and-now-ancestry-health/
How Much Indian Do I Have In Me? 6-9-2015 https://dna-explained.com/2015/06/09/how-much-indian-do-i-have-in-me/
Zeroes aka Deletions – Null DNA Markers 7-7-2015 https://dna-explained.com/2015/07/07/zeroes-aka-deletions-null-dna-markers/
What is a Population Bottleneck? 7-9-2015 https://dna-explained.com/2015/07/09/what-is-a-population-bottleneck/
Autosomal Matchmaking Vendor Comparison 7-29-2015 https://dna-explained.com/2015/07/29/autosomal-matchmaking-vendor-comparison/
African DNA in the British Isles 8-4-2015 https://dna-explained.com/2015/08/04/african-dna-in-the-british-isles/
Autosomal DNA Testing 101 – What Now? 8-7-2015 https://dna-explained.com/2015/08/07/autosomal-dna-testing-101-what-now/
Autosomal DNA Testing 101 – Tips and Tricks for Contact Success 8-11-2015 https://dna-explained.com/2015/08/11/autosomal-dna-testing-101-tips-and-tricks-for-contact-success/
Ethnicity Testing and Results 8-19-2015 https://dna-explained.com/2015/08/19/ethnicity-testing-and-results/
DNA Data Organization, Tools and Who’s on First 9-8-2015 https://dna-explained.com/2015/09/08/dna-data-organization-tools-and-whos-on-first/

7 thoughts on “DNAeXplain Archives – Basic Education Articles

  1. Thank you- thank you for this great list of some of your articles and NAD Comments
    I learn more with every article of ways to make or avoid mistakes.

  2. Pingback: DNAeXplain Archives – Introductory DNA | DNAeXplained – Genetic Genealogy

  3. Pingback: DNAeXplain Archives – Intermediate DNA Articles | DNAeXplained – Genetic Genealogy

  4. Pingback: DNAeXplain Archives – Advanced DNA Articles | DNAeXplained – Genetic Genealogy

  5. Pingback: DNAeXplained Archives – Educational Opportunities | DNAeXplained – Genetic Genealogy

  6. Pingback: DNAeXplain Archives – Entertainment Articles | DNAeXplained – Genetic Genealogy

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s