DNAeXplain Archives – Historical or Obsolete Articles

covered wagon

A few days ago, I announced that I would be publishing a list of articles from the DNAeXplain Archives in the new tag categories.  These tags divide the more than 500 DNAeXplain articles into groups that people will find useable.

The first category is Historical or Obsolete.  These are items that were interesting at the time but aren’t really terribly relevant today – except in a historical context.

An example would be the announcement of the Genographic 2 project in July of 2012. You may wonder why I didn’t delete these. Looking back, these are somewhat like a genetic genealogy journal.  A virtual walk down genetic genealogy memory lane.

So, if you want to know when something particular happened, you can probably find it here.

It’s ironic that this list both begins and ends with the demise of GeneTree/Sorenson at Sorenson with the data base acquisition by Ancestry, and then the final demise of the Sorenson data base at Ancestry.

Article Name Date Link
Did you Test at GeneTree? 7-12-2012 https://dna-explained.com/2012/07/12/did-you-test-at-genetree/
Sorenson (SMGF) Update 7-12-2012 https://dna-explained.com/2012/07/12/sorenson-smgf-update/
The mtDNA Community 7-16-2012 https://dna-explained.com/2012/07/16/the-mtdna-community/
The Trouble with Ancestry.com Matches 7-18-2012 https://dna-explained.com/2012/07/18/the-trouble-with-ancestry-com-matches/
National Geographic – Geno 2.0 Announcement – The Human Story 7-25-2012 https://dna-explained.com/2012/07/25/national-geographic-geno-2-0-announcement-the-human-story/
Geno 2.0 Answers from Spencer Wells 7-30-2012 https://dna-explained.com/2012/07/30/geno-2-0-answers-from-spencer-wells/
Geno 2.0, WTY, mtDNA Full Sequence Participants, and More 7-31-2012 http://dnaexplained.com/2012/07/31/geno-2-0-wty-mtdna-full-sequence-participants-and-more/
What the Heck is WTY? 8-1-2012 https://dna-explained.com/2012/08/01/what-the-heck-is-wty/
Y DNA – Family Tree DNA vs Ancestry 8-14-2012 https://dna-explained.com/2012/08/14/y-dna-family-tree-dna-vs-ancestry/
GEDCOMs, FamilySearch and Curing the Curse 8-24-2012 https://dna-explained.com/2012/08/24/gedcoms-familysearch-and-curing-the-curse/
23andMe – 16 Days Door to Results 9-1-2012 https://dna-explained.com/2012/09/01/23andme-16-days-door-to-results/
Ancestry Autosomal Results are Back 9-10-2012 https://dna-explained.com/2012/09/10/ancestry-autosomal-results-are-back/
Family Tree DNA Conferences 10-5-2012 https://dna-explained.com/2012/10/05/family-tree-dna-conferences/
Is The Y Pool Too Shallow? 10-11-2012 https://dna-explained.com/2012/10/11/is-the-y-pool-too-shallow/
Ancestry’s DNA Survey 10-15-2012 https://dna-explained.com/2012/10/15/ancestrys-dna-survey/
Geno 2.0 – The Kit Arrives 10-16-2012 https://dna-explained.com/2012/10/16/geno-2-0-the-kit-arrives/
Ancestry to Release Data Array in 2013 10-23-2012 https://dna-explained.com/2012/10/23/ancestry-to-release-array-data-in-2013/
Ancestry’s Mythical Admixture Percentages 10-24-2012 https://dna-explained.com/2012/10/24/ancestrys-mythical-admixture-percentages/
Native American DNA News 11-6-2012 https://dna-explained.com/2012/11/06/native-american-dna-news/
Twitter 11-7-2012 https://dna-explained.com/2012/11/07/twitter/
Family Tree DNA Conference 2012 – Native American Focus Meeting 11-12-2012 https://dna-explained.com/2012/11/12/family-tree-dna-conference-2012-native-american-focus-meeting/
Family Tree DNA Conference 2012 – Nits and Grits 11-13-2012 https://dna-explained.com/2012/11/13/family-tree-dna-conference-2012-nits-and-grits/
Free DNA Intro Webinars 11-27-2012 https://dna-explained.com/2012/11/27/free-dna-intro-webinars/
Gene By Gene Announces Landmark DNA DTC Full Genome Sequence 11-30-2012 https://dna-explained.com/2012/11/30/gene-by-gene-announces-landmark-dna-dtc-full-genome-sequence/
News From National Geographic 12-5-2012 https://dna-explained.com/2012/12/05/news-from-national-geographic/
New Worldview at 23andMe 12-6-2012 https://dna-explained.com/2012/12/07/new-worldview-at-23andme/
Last Call to Download GeneTree Results 12-8-2012 https://dna-explained.com/2012/12/08/last-call-to-download-genetree-results/
2012 Top 10 Genetic Genealogy Happenings 12-28-2012 https://dna-explained.com/2012/12/28/2012-top-10-genetic-genealogy-happenings/
2012 Blog in Review 1-1-2013 https://dna-explained.com/2013/01/01/2012-blog-in-review/
Autosomal Testing Comparison 1-3-2013 https://dna-explained.com/2013/01/03/autosomal-testing-comparison/
Geno 2.0 Answers from Spencer Wells 7-30-2012 https://dna-explained.com/2012/07/30/geno-2-0-answers-from-spencer-wells/
Geno 2.0 – Q&A with Bennett Greenspan 7-26-2012 https://dna-explained.com/2012/07/26/geno-2-0-qa-with-bennett-greenspan/
Security and Privacy 1-9-2013 https://dna-explained.com/2013/01/09/security-and-privacy/
12 Marker Y DNA Test for $39 2-21-2013 https://dna-explained.com/2013/02/21/12-marker-y-dna-test-for-39/
DNA Day Sale at Family Tree DNA 4-18-2013 https://dna-explained.com/2013/04/19/dna-day-sale-at-family-tree-dna/
Gene by Gene Signs Agreement with MD Anderson Cancer Center 4-23-2013 https://dna-explained.com/2013/04/23/gene-by-gene-signs-agreement-with-md-anderson-cancer-center/
Mitochondrial DNA Tests for $49 – Wow!!! 5-6-2013 https://dna-explained.com/2013/05/06/mitochondrial-dna-tests-for-49-wow/
AncestryDNA & 23andMe Transfers to Family Tree DNA $49 6-7-2013 https://dna-explained.com/2013/06/07/ancestrydna-23andme-transfers-to-family-tree-dna-49/
Father’s Day Upgrade Sale at Family Tree DNA 6-12-2013 https://dna-explained.com/2013/06/13/fathers-day-upgrade-sale-at-family-tree-dna/
Family Tree DNA Sizzling Summer Sale 6-27-2013 https://dna-explained.com/2013/06/27/family-tree-dna-sizzling-summer-sale/
Happy First Blogiversary 7-11-2013 https://dna-explained.com/2013/07/11/happy-first-blogiversary/
Citizen Science Strikes Again – This Time in Cameroon 7-22-2013 https://dna-explained.com/2013/07/22/citizen-science-strikes-again-this-time-in-cameroon/
Family Tree DNA Levels the Playing Field – Sort Of 7-26-2013 https://dna-explained.com/2013/07/26/family-tree-dna-levels-the-playing-field-sort-of/
Gene by Gene Acquires Arpeggi 8-7-2013 https://dna-explained.com/2013/08/07/gene-by-gene-acquires-arpeggi/
Gone Fishin’ 9-2-2013 https://dna-explained.com/2013/09/02/gone-fishin/
Spencer Wells LiveChat – September 13th 9-6-2013 https://dna-explained.com/2013/09/06/spencer-wells-livechat-september-13th/
Message from Bennett Greenspan – Free My Genes 9-7-2013 https://dna-explained.com/2013/09/07/message-from-bennett-greenspan-free-my-genes/
9th Annual International Conference on Genetic Genealogy 11-6-2013 https://dna-explained.com/2013/11/06/9th-annual-international-conference-on-genetic-genealogy/
9th Annual Conference Reception 11-9-2013 https://dna-explained.com/2013/11/09/9th-annual-conference-reception/
Family Tree DNA Announces the “Big Y” 11-10-2013 https://dna-explained.com/2013/11/10/family-tree-dna-announces-the-big-y/
Family Tree DNA Conference Day 1 11-11-2013 https://dna-explained.com/2013/11/11/2013-family-tree-dna-conference-day-1/
Family Tree DNA Conference Day 2 11-12-2013 https://dna-explained.com/2013/11/12/2013-family-tree-dna-conference-day-2/
23andMe Pulls Affiliate Marketing Program 12-3-2013 https://dna-explained.com/2013/12/03/23andme-pulls-affiliate-marketing-program/
Haplogroup Q and C Fundraising Report 12-2-2013 https://dna-explained.com/2013/12/02/haplogroup-q-and-c-fundraising-report/
2013 – DNA-eXplained in Review 1-1-2014 https://dna-explained.com/2014/01/01/2013-dna-explained-in-review/
Genea-Musings Best of 2013 – Congrats Genetic Genealogy Bloggers 1-8-2013 https://dna-explained.com/2014/01/08/genea-musings-best-of-2013-congrats-genetic-genealogy-bloggers/
You’re Invited to Aleda’s Virtual Funeral 2-6-2014 https://dna-explained.com/2014/02/06/youre-invited-to-aledas-virtual-funeral/
Big Y Results to be Released February 28th 2-25-2014 https://dna-explained.com/2014/02/25/big-y-results-to-be-released-february-28th/
Free Big Y Webinar 2-26-2014 https://dna-explained.com/2014/02/26/free-big-y-webinar/
March Madness mtDNA Mega Weekend Sale 3-28-2014 https://dna-explained.com/2014/03/28/march-madness-mtdna-mega-weekend-sale/
Mitochondrial DNA Results from the Big Y Test 4-1-2014 https://dna-explained.com/2014/04/01/mitochondrial-dna-results-from-the-big-y-test/
Big Y Chrome Extension 4-2-2014 https://dna-explained.com/2014/04/02/big-y-chrome-extension/
Population Finder Update to be Released Soon 4-12-2014 https://dna-explained.com/2014/04/13/poulation-finder-update-to-be-released-soon/
Big Y and Family Finder Sale Plus $100 Coupon for Big Y 6-9-2014 https://dna-explained.com/2014/06/09/big-y-and-family-finder-sale-plus-100-coupon-for-big-y/
Family Tree DNA Surpasses the Million Test Mark 6-12-2014 https://dna-explained.com/2014/06/12/family-tree-dna-surpasses-the-million-test-mark/
More $100 Big Y Test Coupons 6-14-2014 https://dna-explained.com/2014/06/15/more-100-big-y-test-coupons/
Salvaging Every Scrap of DNA Info from Ancestry 7-2-2014 https://dna-explained.com/2014/07/02/salvaging-every-scrap-of-dna-info-from-ancestry/
Big Y Price Reduction and New Matching Feature 7-28-2014 https://dna-explained.com/2014/07/29/big-y-price-reduction-and-new-matching-feature/
Y DNA Sale 8-28-2013 https://dna-explained.com/2014/08/28/y-dna-sale/
Rockstar Genealogists – Sweeting the Pie 9-8-2014 https://dna-explained.com/2014/09/09/rockstar-genealogists-sweetening-the-pie/
Last Call 9-12-2014 https://dna-explained.com/2014/09/12/last-call/
Rockstar Genealogists – There is no I in Team 9-15-2014 https://dna-explained.com/2014/09/15/rockstar-genealogists-there-is-no-i-in-team/
Rockstar Genealogists – Tickled Pink and Paying Up 9-16-2014 https://dna-explained.com/2014/09/16/rockstar-genealogists-tickled-pink-and-paying-up/
Rockstar Genealogists Winners – We’ve Come a Long Way Baby 9-20-2014 https://dna-explained.com/2014/09/20/rockstar-genealogist-winners-weve-come-a-long-way-baby/
deCODEme Consumer Tests Discontinued 9-30-2014 https://dna-explained.com/2014/09/30/decodeme-consumer-tests-discontinued/
Tenth Annual Family Tree DNA Conference Opening Reception 10-11-2014 https://dna-explained.com/2014/10/11/tenth-annual-family-tree-dna-conference-opening-reception/
Tenth Annual Family Tree DNA Conference Day 2 10-12-2014 https://dna-explained.com/2014/10/12/tenth-annual-family-tree-dna-conference-day-2/
Tenth Annual Family Tree DNA Conference Day 3 10-13-2014 https://dna-explained.com/2014/10/13/tenth-annual-family-tree-dna-conference-day-3/
Tenth Annual Family Tree DNA Conference Wrapup 10-14-2014 https://dna-explained.com/2014/10/15/tenth-annual-family-tree-dna-conference-wrapup/
Family Tree DNA Holiday Sale, Including Mystery Rewards, Starts Now 11-25-2014 https://dna-explained.com/2014/11/25/family-tree-dna-holiday-sale-including-mystery-rewards-starts-now/
New Family Tree DNA Mystery Rewards Week 2 12-1-2014 https://dna-explained.com/2014/12/01/new-family-tree-dna-mystery-rewards-week-2/
Family Tree DNA Week 3 Mystery Coupon Same as Week 2 12-8-2014 https://dna-explained.com/2014/12/08/family-tree-dna-week-3-mystery-coupon-same-as-week-2/
All New Mystery Coupons – Week 4 Family Tree DNA  Holiday Sale 12-15-2014 https://dna-explained.com/2014/12/15/all-new-mystery-coupons-week-4-family-tree-dna-holiday-sale/
Family Tree DNA Mystery Rewards – Week 5 – Merry Christmas 12-22-2014 https://dna-explained.com/2014/12/22/family-tree-dna-mystery-rewards-week-5-merry-christmas/
Family Tree DNA Final Mystery Rewards Coupon 12-29-2014 https://dna-explained.com/2014/12/29/family-tree-dna-final-mystery-rewards-coupon/
2014 Top Genetic Genealogy Happenings – A Baker’s Dozen +1 12-30-2014 https://dna-explained.com/2014/12/30/2014-top-genetic-genealogy-happenings-a-bakers-dozen-1/
2014 in Review for DNA-eXplained 1-3-2015 https://dna-explained.com/2015/01/03/2014-in-review/
RIP Sorenson – A Crushing Loss 5-15-2015 https://dna-explained.com/2015/05/15/rip-sorenson-a-crushing-loss/

10 thoughts on “DNAeXplain Archives – Historical or Obsolete Articles

  1. May I cast modesty to the wind and suggest that I am the reason you don’t simply delete these articles — me, and perhaps many others like me? My personal DNA history, my experience with DNA, is captured on my lineage website: http://vincentfamily.org/DNA/2001-10-13_DNA_tested.htm. I need to update that web page with a link to this blog post for any (like me) who want to know more about SMGF. In a nutshell, you don’t simply delete these articles because some unknown person in the future might want to read them. Genealogists are preservationists. They plant trees from which others will pick the fruit. They do so without reservation. They think, “Gee, I wish someone in the past had not thrown away that important record.” They think, “Maybe someone in the future will be glad I didn’t throw this away.” Ok, so we’re pack rats! I’ll admit that. We store old, musty love letters. We keep old photos hoping someone, some day will be able to identify them. My parents kept such an old photo. 100 years after it was taken, I shared that photo of a man shoeing a horse with the mans aging grandson. He identified the photo and it made us both very happy. Until then, he didn’t know the photo existed and I didn’t know who the person in the photo was. Yep, you archive things. Good!

  2. Pingback: DNAeXplain Archives – General Information Articles | DNAeXplained – Genetic Genealogy

  3. Pingback: DNAeXplain Archives – Basic Education Articles | DNAeXplained – Genetic Genealogy

  4. Pingback: DNAeXplain Archives – Introductory DNA | DNAeXplained – Genetic Genealogy

  5. Pingback: DNAeXplain Archives – Intermediate DNA Articles | DNAeXplained – Genetic Genealogy

  6. Pingback: DNAeXplain Archives – Advanced DNA Articles | DNAeXplained – Genetic Genealogy

  7. Pingback: DNAeXplained Archives – Educational Opportunities | DNAeXplained – Genetic Genealogy

  8. Pingback: DNAeXplain Archives – Entertainment Articles | DNAeXplained – Genetic Genealogy

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s