DNAeXplain Archives – Historical or Obsolete Articles

covered wagon

A few days ago, I announced that I would be publishing a list of articles from the DNAeXplain Archives in the new tag categories.  These tags divide the more than 500 DNAeXplain articles into groups that people will find useable.

The first category is Historical or Obsolete.  These are items that were interesting at the time but aren’t really terribly relevant today – except in a historical context.

An example would be the announcement of the Genographic 2 project in July of 2012. You may wonder why I didn’t delete these. Looking back, these are somewhat like a genetic genealogy journal.  A virtual walk down genetic genealogy memory lane.

So, if you want to know when something particular happened, you can probably find it here.

It’s ironic that this list both begins and ends with the demise of GeneTree/Sorenson at Sorenson with the data base acquisition by Ancestry, and then the final demise of the Sorenson data base at Ancestry.

Article Name Date Link
Did you Test at GeneTree? 7-12-2012 http://dna-explained.com/2012/07/12/did-you-test-at-genetree/
Sorenson (SMGF) Update 7-12-2012 http://dna-explained.com/2012/07/12/sorenson-smgf-update/
The mtDNA Community 7-16-2012 http://dna-explained.com/2012/07/16/the-mtdna-community/
The Trouble with Ancestry.com Matches 7-18-2012 http://dna-explained.com/2012/07/18/the-trouble-with-ancestry-com-matches/
National Geographic – Geno 2.0 Announcement – The Human Story 7-25-2012 http://dna-explained.com/2012/07/25/national-geographic-geno-2-0-announcement-the-human-story/
Geno 2.0 Answers from Spencer Wells 7-30-2012 http://dna-explained.com/2012/07/30/geno-2-0-answers-from-spencer-wells/
Geno 2.0, WTY, mtDNA Full Sequence Participants, and More 7-31-2012 http://dnaexplained.com/2012/07/31/geno-2-0-wty-mtdna-full-sequence-participants-and-more/
What the Heck is WTY? 8-1-2012 http://dna-explained.com/2012/08/01/what-the-heck-is-wty/
Y DNA – Family Tree DNA vs Ancestry 8-14-2012 http://dna-explained.com/2012/08/14/y-dna-family-tree-dna-vs-ancestry/
GEDCOMs, FamilySearch and Curing the Curse 8-24-2012 http://dna-explained.com/2012/08/24/gedcoms-familysearch-and-curing-the-curse/
23andMe – 16 Days Door to Results 9-1-2012 http://dna-explained.com/2012/09/01/23andme-16-days-door-to-results/
Ancestry Autosomal Results are Back 9-10-2012 http://dna-explained.com/2012/09/10/ancestry-autosomal-results-are-back/
Family Tree DNA Conferences 10-5-2012 http://dna-explained.com/2012/10/05/family-tree-dna-conferences/
Is The Y Pool Too Shallow? 10-11-2012 http://dna-explained.com/2012/10/11/is-the-y-pool-too-shallow/
Ancestry’s DNA Survey 10-15-2012 http://dna-explained.com/2012/10/15/ancestrys-dna-survey/
Geno 2.0 – The Kit Arrives 10-16-2012 http://dna-explained.com/2012/10/16/geno-2-0-the-kit-arrives/
Ancestry to Release Data Array in 2013 10-23-2012 http://dna-explained.com/2012/10/23/ancestry-to-release-array-data-in-2013/
Ancestry’s Mythical Admixture Percentages 10-24-2012 http://dna-explained.com/2012/10/24/ancestrys-mythical-admixture-percentages/
Native American DNA News 11-6-2012 http://dna-explained.com/2012/11/06/native-american-dna-news/
Twitter 11-7-2012 http://dna-explained.com/2012/11/07/twitter/
Family Tree DNA Conference 2012 – Native American Focus Meeting 11-12-2012 http://dna-explained.com/2012/11/12/family-tree-dna-conference-2012-native-american-focus-meeting/
Family Tree DNA Conference 2012 – Nits and Grits 11-13-2012 http://dna-explained.com/2012/11/13/family-tree-dna-conference-2012-nits-and-grits/
Free DNA Intro Webinars 11-27-2012 http://dna-explained.com/2012/11/27/free-dna-intro-webinars/
Gene By Gene Announces Landmark DNA DTC Full Genome Sequence 11-30-2012 http://dna-explained.com/2012/11/30/gene-by-gene-announces-landmark-dna-dtc-full-genome-sequence/
News From National Geographic 12-5-2012 http://dna-explained.com/2012/12/05/news-from-national-geographic/
New Worldview at 23andMe 12-6-2012 http://dna-explained.com/2012/12/07/new-worldview-at-23andme/
Last Call to Download GeneTree Results 12-8-2012 http://dna-explained.com/2012/12/08/last-call-to-download-genetree-results/
2012 Top 10 Genetic Genealogy Happenings 12-28-2012 http://dna-explained.com/2012/12/28/2012-top-10-genetic-genealogy-happenings/
2012 Blog in Review 1-1-2013 http://dna-explained.com/2013/01/01/2012-blog-in-review/
Autosomal Testing Comparison 1-3-2013 http://dna-explained.com/2013/01/03/autosomal-testing-comparison/
Geno 2.0 Answers from Spencer Wells 7-30-2012 http://dna-explained.com/2012/07/30/geno-2-0-answers-from-spencer-wells/
Geno 2.0 – Q&A with Bennett Greenspan 7-26-2012 http://dna-explained.com/2012/07/26/geno-2-0-qa-with-bennett-greenspan/
Security and Privacy 1-9-2013 http://dna-explained.com/2013/01/09/security-and-privacy/
12 Marker Y DNA Test for $39 2-21-2013 http://dna-explained.com/2013/02/21/12-marker-y-dna-test-for-39/
DNA Day Sale at Family Tree DNA 4-18-2013 http://dna-explained.com/2013/04/19/dna-day-sale-at-family-tree-dna/
Gene by Gene Signs Agreement with MD Anderson Cancer Center 4-23-2013 http://dna-explained.com/2013/04/23/gene-by-gene-signs-agreement-with-md-anderson-cancer-center/
Mitochondrial DNA Tests for $49 – Wow!!! 5-6-2013 http://dna-explained.com/2013/05/06/mitochondrial-dna-tests-for-49-wow/
AncestryDNA & 23andMe Transfers to Family Tree DNA $49 6-7-2013 http://dna-explained.com/2013/06/07/ancestrydna-23andme-transfers-to-family-tree-dna-49/
Father’s Day Upgrade Sale at Family Tree DNA 6-12-2013 http://dna-explained.com/2013/06/13/fathers-day-upgrade-sale-at-family-tree-dna/
Family Tree DNA Sizzling Summer Sale 6-27-2013 http://dna-explained.com/2013/06/27/family-tree-dna-sizzling-summer-sale/
Happy First Blogiversary 7-11-2013 http://dna-explained.com/2013/07/11/happy-first-blogiversary/
Citizen Science Strikes Again – This Time in Cameroon 7-22-2013 http://dna-explained.com/2013/07/22/citizen-science-strikes-again-this-time-in-cameroon/
Family Tree DNA Levels the Playing Field – Sort Of 7-26-2013 http://dna-explained.com/2013/07/26/family-tree-dna-levels-the-playing-field-sort-of/
Gene by Gene Acquires Arpeggi 8-7-2013 http://dna-explained.com/2013/08/07/gene-by-gene-acquires-arpeggi/
Gone Fishin’ 9-2-2013 http://dna-explained.com/2013/09/02/gone-fishin/
Spencer Wells LiveChat – September 13th 9-6-2013 http://dna-explained.com/2013/09/06/spencer-wells-livechat-september-13th/
Message from Bennett Greenspan – Free My Genes 9-7-2013 http://dna-explained.com/2013/09/07/message-from-bennett-greenspan-free-my-genes/
9th Annual International Conference on Genetic Genealogy 11-6-2013 http://dna-explained.com/2013/11/06/9th-annual-international-conference-on-genetic-genealogy/
9th Annual Conference Reception 11-9-2013 http://dna-explained.com/2013/11/09/9th-annual-conference-reception/
Family Tree DNA Announces the “Big Y” 11-10-2013 http://dna-explained.com/2013/11/10/family-tree-dna-announces-the-big-y/
Family Tree DNA Conference Day 1 11-11-2013 http://dna-explained.com/2013/11/11/2013-family-tree-dna-conference-day-1/
Family Tree DNA Conference Day 2 11-12-2013 http://dna-explained.com/2013/11/12/2013-family-tree-dna-conference-day-2/
23andMe Pulls Affiliate Marketing Program 12-3-2013 http://dna-explained.com/2013/12/03/23andme-pulls-affiliate-marketing-program/
Haplogroup Q and C Fundraising Report 12-2-2013 http://dna-explained.com/2013/12/02/haplogroup-q-and-c-fundraising-report/
2013 – DNA-eXplained in Review 1-1-2014 http://dna-explained.com/2014/01/01/2013-dna-explained-in-review/
Genea-Musings Best of 2013 – Congrats Genetic Genealogy Bloggers 1-8-2013 http://dna-explained.com/2014/01/08/genea-musings-best-of-2013-congrats-genetic-genealogy-bloggers/
You’re Invited to Aleda’s Virtual Funeral 2-6-2014 http://dna-explained.com/2014/02/06/youre-invited-to-aledas-virtual-funeral/
Big Y Results to be Released February 28th 2-25-2014 http://dna-explained.com/2014/02/25/big-y-results-to-be-released-february-28th/
Free Big Y Webinar 2-26-2014 http://dna-explained.com/2014/02/26/free-big-y-webinar/
March Madness mtDNA Mega Weekend Sale 3-28-2014 http://dna-explained.com/2014/03/28/march-madness-mtdna-mega-weekend-sale/
Mitochondrial DNA Results from the Big Y Test 4-1-2014 http://dna-explained.com/2014/04/01/mitochondrial-dna-results-from-the-big-y-test/
Big Y Chrome Extension 4-2-2014 http://dna-explained.com/2014/04/02/big-y-chrome-extension/
Population Finder Update to be Released Soon 4-12-2014 http://dna-explained.com/2014/04/13/poulation-finder-update-to-be-released-soon/
Big Y and Family Finder Sale Plus $100 Coupon for Big Y 6-9-2014 http://dna-explained.com/2014/06/09/big-y-and-family-finder-sale-plus-100-coupon-for-big-y/
Family Tree DNA Surpasses the Million Test Mark 6-12-2014 http://dna-explained.com/2014/06/12/family-tree-dna-surpasses-the-million-test-mark/
More $100 Big Y Test Coupons 6-14-2014 http://dna-explained.com/2014/06/15/more-100-big-y-test-coupons/
Salvaging Every Scrap of DNA Info from Ancestry 7-2-2014 http://dna-explained.com/2014/07/02/salvaging-every-scrap-of-dna-info-from-ancestry/
Big Y Price Reduction and New Matching Feature 7-28-2014 http://dna-explained.com/2014/07/29/big-y-price-reduction-and-new-matching-feature/
Y DNA Sale 8-28-2013 http://dna-explained.com/2014/08/28/y-dna-sale/
Rockstar Genealogists – Sweeting the Pie 9-8-2014 http://dna-explained.com/2014/09/09/rockstar-genealogists-sweetening-the-pie/
Last Call 9-12-2014 http://dna-explained.com/2014/09/12/last-call/
Rockstar Genealogists – There is no I in Team 9-15-2014 http://dna-explained.com/2014/09/15/rockstar-genealogists-there-is-no-i-in-team/
Rockstar Genealogists – Tickled Pink and Paying Up 9-16-2014 http://dna-explained.com/2014/09/16/rockstar-genealogists-tickled-pink-and-paying-up/
Rockstar Genealogists Winners – We’ve Come a Long Way Baby 9-20-2014 http://dna-explained.com/2014/09/20/rockstar-genealogist-winners-weve-come-a-long-way-baby/
deCODEme Consumer Tests Discontinued 9-30-2014 http://dna-explained.com/2014/09/30/decodeme-consumer-tests-discontinued/
Tenth Annual Family Tree DNA Conference Opening Reception 10-11-2014 http://dna-explained.com/2014/10/11/tenth-annual-family-tree-dna-conference-opening-reception/
Tenth Annual Family Tree DNA Conference Day 2 10-12-2014 http://dna-explained.com/2014/10/12/tenth-annual-family-tree-dna-conference-day-2/
Tenth Annual Family Tree DNA Conference Day 3 10-13-2014 http://dna-explained.com/2014/10/13/tenth-annual-family-tree-dna-conference-day-3/
Tenth Annual Family Tree DNA Conference Wrapup 10-14-2014 http://dna-explained.com/2014/10/15/tenth-annual-family-tree-dna-conference-wrapup/
Family Tree DNA Holiday Sale, Including Mystery Rewards, Starts Now 11-25-2014 http://dna-explained.com/2014/11/25/family-tree-dna-holiday-sale-including-mystery-rewards-starts-now/
New Family Tree DNA Mystery Rewards Week 2 12-1-2014 http://dna-explained.com/2014/12/01/new-family-tree-dna-mystery-rewards-week-2/
Family Tree DNA Week 3 Mystery Coupon Same as Week 2 12-8-2014 http://dna-explained.com/2014/12/08/family-tree-dna-week-3-mystery-coupon-same-as-week-2/
All New Mystery Coupons – Week 4 Family Tree DNA  Holiday Sale 12-15-2014 http://dna-explained.com/2014/12/15/all-new-mystery-coupons-week-4-family-tree-dna-holiday-sale/
Family Tree DNA Mystery Rewards – Week 5 – Merry Christmas 12-22-2014 http://dna-explained.com/2014/12/22/family-tree-dna-mystery-rewards-week-5-merry-christmas/
Family Tree DNA Final Mystery Rewards Coupon 12-29-2014 http://dna-explained.com/2014/12/29/family-tree-dna-final-mystery-rewards-coupon/
2014 Top Genetic Genealogy Happenings – A Baker’s Dozen +1 12-30-2014 http://dna-explained.com/2014/12/30/2014-top-genetic-genealogy-happenings-a-bakers-dozen-1/
2014 in Review for DNA-eXplained 1-3-2015 http://dna-explained.com/2015/01/03/2014-in-review/
RIP Sorenson – A Crushing Loss 5-15-2015 http://dna-explained.com/2015/05/15/rip-sorenson-a-crushing-loss/

10 thoughts on “DNAeXplain Archives – Historical or Obsolete Articles

  1. May I cast modesty to the wind and suggest that I am the reason you don’t simply delete these articles — me, and perhaps many others like me? My personal DNA history, my experience with DNA, is captured on my lineage website: http://vincentfamily.org/DNA/2001-10-13_DNA_tested.htm. I need to update that web page with a link to this blog post for any (like me) who want to know more about SMGF. In a nutshell, you don’t simply delete these articles because some unknown person in the future might want to read them. Genealogists are preservationists. They plant trees from which others will pick the fruit. They do so without reservation. They think, “Gee, I wish someone in the past had not thrown away that important record.” They think, “Maybe someone in the future will be glad I didn’t throw this away.” Ok, so we’re pack rats! I’ll admit that. We store old, musty love letters. We keep old photos hoping someone, some day will be able to identify them. My parents kept such an old photo. 100 years after it was taken, I shared that photo of a man shoeing a horse with the mans aging grandson. He identified the photo and it made us both very happy. Until then, he didn’t know the photo existed and I didn’t know who the person in the photo was. Yep, you archive things. Good!

  2. Pingback: DNAeXplain Archives – General Information Articles | DNAeXplained – Genetic Genealogy

  3. Lol That definitely describes me. The digging through boxes for something “I just know I have!!!

  4. Pingback: DNAeXplain Archives – Basic Education Articles | DNAeXplained – Genetic Genealogy

  5. Pingback: DNAeXplain Archives – Introductory DNA | DNAeXplained – Genetic Genealogy

  6. Pingback: DNAeXplain Archives – Intermediate DNA Articles | DNAeXplained – Genetic Genealogy

  7. Pingback: DNAeXplain Archives – Advanced DNA Articles | DNAeXplained – Genetic Genealogy

  8. Pingback: DNAeXplained Archives – Educational Opportunities | DNAeXplained – Genetic Genealogy

  9. Pingback: DNAeXplain Archives – Entertainment Articles | DNAeXplained – Genetic Genealogy

Leave a Reply